• Lifewide Learning
  • Posts
  • Mindset Makeover - Train Your Brain to go From Problems to Possibilities

Mindset Makeover - Train Your Brain to go From Problems to Possibilities

Thoughts become things, 5 practices to start the shift

To change your reality, you need to change your mindset.

Getting control over what we think is some of the most important work we will do as humans. That record in your head is what is dictating your physical experience.

According to the leading scientist in this field, Dr Joe Dispenza; your brain does not know the difference between what’s real and what’s imagined. It’s all the same thing to it. So if you go on holiday, it experiences that. But if you talk about a holiday as though you are there even though you’re on your couch; as far your brain is concerned, you’re on holiday.

When I first heard about this concept many years ago, I was skeptical. So with all things in my life, I ran an experiment on myself.

I choose a subject that triggers many people - weight. I repeated the following to myself 15 to 20 times a day, every single day, for 30 days: “I am thin, I am at my ideal weight”.

I lost 3kg’s that month and never changed one single eating or exercise habit.

This kickstarted my journey into taking control of my mind that I continue to this day.

Retraining your brain is a 2-step process.

You first need to unlearn what you have been taught; then learn something new. This entails awareness. It means first accepting the possibility that every single thing you have been taught till this point, is inverted.

You have accepted this reality because it’s the one you have been presented with. It’s been programmed into you since birth. You are bombarded hourly from every angle with a version others want you to buy into.

One of the most powerful things you can do for yourself, is understand this, and understand that you have a choice:

You do not have to accept the version of the world that has been presented to you. You can create your own version - regardless of what is going on in the world.

You can shut down that societal programming. You can reprogram yourself to a version you want. You can thrive in the middle of chaos.

How?

1) Be open to the fact that this is even possible

If one of your favourite sayings is “there’s nothing we can do about it, it’s just the way it is”; you may have a hard time believing this is possible. If you can suspend that belief system just for a bit, you will open yourself to new thoughts and this process can commence.

A belief is just something you keep thinking. So if you change what you think about, you change your belief system. If you stand by your belief that this is not possible, stop reading.

But if you’ve had enough pain in your life and can’t help thinking that this surely cannot be right, stick with me.

Be open to the possibility that your outer world is a reflection of your inner one.

2) Embrace radical responsibility to take full ownership of your thoughts

This means you cannot blame anyone or anything for your circumstances anymore. This means taking full accountability of your reaction to anything, regardless of what it was. When you start to own your mind like this, you will start to realise that you have the power to change it.

This also means paying attention to what you are telling yourself all day, and stopping that negative speak in its tracks. “Things are so bad out there”, “everything always goes wrong”, “why does this stuff always happen to me”, “I’m a realist”, “Typical!”.

It’s going to be radical because it’s going to take conscious effort to stop that thought and replace it with a more empowering one.

This means being accountable and conscious of every single word that comes out your mouth, even in jest, because thoughts create things.

3) Develop mantras that you can repeat

We’ve got centuries of highly sophisticated programming to undo. Start by writing some mantras down that you can repeat to yourself several times a day. Stick Post It notes up around your house and car. Record yourself on your phone and play it yourself at night when you sleep, or in the car on a drive. Download apps that send daily affirmations to your phone.

The one that I used to change my mindset about money, was John Kehoe’s Abundance is the Law of the Universe recording from his Mind Power content. I bought the CD and listened to it 4 to 10 times a day, every single day, for 2 years; and then on an adhoc basis over the past decade.

My financial health has done nothing but increase exponentially since I have taken that outlook as my own now. I can just about repeat it verbatim and have integrated it into my belief system.

Others that I use daily are, “the Universe has got my back”, “everything comes to me exactly when I need it”, “I am grounded, I am connected, I am protected”. “I am always safe”; “the world is a friendly place”. These are my truths.

Find or write ones that resonate with you.

4) Start looking for possibilities and opportunities in every situation and say thank you

How many get togethers have you been to in the past decade where people discuss a bright future, personal development, explore solutions, exciting prospects, the nature of our Universe?

Isn’t it so that there is instead lots of backstabbing going on; criticizing. Get a group of people together and watch the whining and complaining about how bad things are commence. They will focus on everything negative, because misery loves company. You need to walk away from those conversations or turn them into ones of possibility and great life experiences.

Make it a daily habit to say thank you for all the things you have and experience.

5) Do this forever

We live in a world of instant gratification. We expect results after doing something once or twice. But anything that really matters, does not work like that. It takes time. You can’t undo centuries of programming in a week. Getting control over your mind will take the rest of your life. There are many layers of this game to be unraveled. If you are serious about turning your life around, commit to doing so indefinitely.

But the beauty of this is, that once you get your first results from your efforts, it’s going to open a world of magic you didn’t even know existed. Life becomes soooooooooo much easier when you have a better understanding of how it’s really put together. You are going to empower yourself to achieve every single goal you set yourself.

When you watch those goals unfold before you, it’s like finding a secret garden full treasures, and they’re all yours!

Is this hard to do?

OMG YES! Our minds are a HOT MESS! These are just the beginning stages of this process. There is more work to be done here.

But is it worth it?

Hands down, no question, no contest, unequivocally YES YES YES!

I am SO excited for you.

Reply

or to participate.