Why This Newsletter is Moving to LinkedIn

Gotta go where the people are...

A week or two ago, I was researching how people got this “subscribe to my newsletter link on their profiles. It made a lot of sense to me and wanted on to link to this newsletter on my own profile.

In the process, I discovered LinkedIn also has newsletter functionality. I assumed the link in the profile header was tied to the newsletter service. So I started one up and started copying the post from here into there.

Within an hour, I had 152 subscribers. Here on Beehiiv, I’ve had 20 in 6 months. Nothing changed except the platform. I’m now on 357 subscribers.

Engagement has quadrupled! When I posted the links to Beehiiv, I got some likes here and there, but not many comments. On LinkedIn, I’m getting more comments and engagement than ever before.

As a result, I am going to post directly to LinkedIn from now on.

Yes, Beehiiv has a lot more analytics and tools available. But trying to build an audience organically, with no paid advertising has been excruciatingly slow, and honestly; soul destroying. I’ve been getting crickets! I started to think that I don’t really have much to offer, but my LinkedIn newsletter proved that wrong. That’s where the people are and I need to go there.

I will keep this newsletter active for the rest of the year. I have shared links to its articles in hundreds of social media posts in Facebook and X, and don’t have the inclination to go clean all that up for the past 6 months.

And as for the “subscribe to my newsletter” link in my profile - turns out it has got nothing to do with the LinkedIn newsletter service at all, haha. It’s just a field in the Edit Profile section! You can link to anything. The Universe sure does have a sense of humour. 😄 

Reply

or to participate.